Indian News

For Congress Chief Mallikarjun Kharge To Set Up New Team, Office Bearers Resign

For Congress Chief M Kharge To Set Up New Team, Office Bearers Resign

Mallikarjun Kharge took over as the new Congress president today.

New Delhi:

Soon after Mallikarjun Kharge took over as the new Congress president, all members of the Working Committee, general secretaries and in-charges tendered their resignations to enable the new chief to install his team.

There has been a tradition of all office bearers of the Congress resigning soon after the election of the new president.

“All the CWC members, AICC general secretaries and in-charges have tendered their resignation to Congress president,” said AICC general secretary Organisation KC Venugopal.

According to the Congress constitution, the election of Mr Kharge will be ratified at the plenary session of the party which is likely to be held in March-April next year.

The new CWC, the top decision-making body of the Congress, will be reconstituted by Mr Kharge soon after the plenary session.

According to the party Constitution, 11 members of the CWC will be nominated and 12 will be elected. Besides, the leader of the party in Parliament and the Congress president will also be the members of the working committee.

However, till the time the election of Mr Kharge is ratified, a new steering committee will be formed by the new party chief which will function as the CWC till the plenary session.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button